EATCS annually honors a respected scientist from our community with the prestigious EATCS Distinguished Achievements Award. The award is given to acknowledge extensive and widely recognized contributions to theoretical computer science over a life long scientific career.

For the EATCS Award 2015, candidates may be nominated to the Awards Committee

consisting of

Fedor Fomin (University of Bergen),
Kim Guldstrand Larsen (Aalborg University)
Jean-Éric Pin (CNRS and University Paris-Diderot)

Nominations will be kept strictly confidential. They should include supporting justification and be sent by
e-mail to the chairman of the EATCS Awards Committee:

Kim Guldstrand Larsen
Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

by 31st December 2015.


The decision has been unanimously approved by the EATCS Council.


The Award will be assigned during a ceremony that will take place in Rome, Italy during ICALP 2016 (July 11-15, 2016).

A brief history of the EATCS Award follows below.

2015 / Christos Papadimitriou

Place: ICALP (Kyoto)


Committee: Fedor Fomin, Kim G. Larsen and Vladimiro Sassone (chair)

2014 / Gordon Plotkin

Place: ICALP (Copenhagen)


Committee: Kim Guldstrand Larsen, Vladimiro Sassone and Leslie Ann Goldberg (chair)

2013 / Martin Dyer

Place: ICALP (Riga)


Committee: Leslie Ann Goldberg, Vladimiro Sassone and Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide (chair)

Photos from ICALP 2013

2012 / Moshe Y. Vardi

Place: ICALP (Wawrwick)


Committee: Leslie Ann Goldberg, Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, Eugenio Moggi (chair)

2011 / Boris (Boaz) Trakhtenbrot

Place: ICALP (Zürich)


Committee: Paul G. Spirakis (chair), Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, Eugenio Moggi

Photos from ICALP 2011 by Manfred Kudlek

2010 / Kurt Mehlhorn

Place: ICALP (Bordeaux)


Committee: Emo Welzl (Chair), Pavlos Spirakis and Eugenio Moggi

Photos from ICALP 2010 by Manfred Kudlek

2009 / Gérard Huet

Place: ICALP (Rhodes)


Committee: Catuscia Palamidessi (Chair), Paul Spirakis and Emo Welzl

Photos from ICALP 2009 by Manfred Kudlek

2008 / Leslie G. Valiant

Place: ICALP (Reykjavik)


Committee: David Peleg (chair), Catuscia Palamidessi and Emo Welzl

2007 / Dana S. Scott

Place: ICALP (Wroclaw)

Committee: Wolfgang Thomas (chair), Catuscia Palamidessi and David Peleg

2006 / Mike Paterson

Place: ICALP (Venice)

Committee: M. Dezani-Ciancaglini (chair), D. Peleg, and W. Thomas

Photos from ICALP 2006


2005 / Robin Milner

Place: ICALP (Lisboa)


Committee: J. van Leeuwen (chair), M. Dezani-Ciancaglini and W. Thomas

2004 / Arto Salomaa

Place: ICALP (Turku)

Committee: J. van Leeuwen (chair)

2003 / Grzegorz Rozenberg

Place: ICALP (Eindhoven)

Committee: Jean-Pierre Jouannaud, Emo Welzl and Jan van Leeuwen (chair)

2002 / Maurice Nivat

Place: ICALP (Málaga)

2001 / Corrado Böhm

Place: ICALP (Creta)

2000 / Richard Karp

Place: ICALP (Geneva) your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.