Best ETAPS Paper

The prize of "Best ETAPS Paper" is presented to the best theoretical paper at ETAPS.

European Association for Programming Languages and Systems (EAPLS) also presents a Best Paper Award, which has been awarded since ETAPS'98.

A brief history of the prize follows below.

2022 / Munich

Emmanuel Hainry, Bruce Kapron, Jean-Yves Marion and Romain Péchoux: "Complete and tractable machine-independent characterizations of second-order polytime" FoSSaCS 2022

2021 / Luxembourg

Robin Piedeleu and Fabio Zanasi: "A String Diagrammatic Axiomatisation of Finite-State Automata""

Bartek Klin, Sławomir Lasota, and Szymon Toruńczyk: "Nondeterministic and co-Nondeterministic Implies Deterministic, for Data Languages"

2020 / Dublin

Thomas Neele, Antti Valmari and Tim A.C. Willemse: "The inconsistent labelling problem of stutter-preserving partial-order reduction"

2019 / Prague

Jérémy Dubut: "Trees in Partial Higher Dimensional Automata (FoSSaCS 2019)"

2018 / Thessaloniki

Sergey Goncharov and Lutz Schröder: "Guarded Traced Symmetric Monoidal Categories (FoSSaCS 2018)"

2017 / Uppsala

Sam Staton: "Commutative Semantics for Probabilistic Programming (ESOP 2017)"

Alex Simpson: "Cyclic Arithmetic Is Equivalent to Peano Arithmetic (FoSSaCS 2017)"

Stefano Berardi, Makoto Tatsuta: "Classical System of Martin-Löf's Inductive Definitions Is Not Equivalent to Cyclic Proof System. (FoSSaCS 2017)"

2016 / Eindhoven

Benjamin Lucien Kaminski, Joost-Pieter Katoen, Christoph Matheja and Federico Olmedo: "Weakest Precondition Reasoning for Expected Run–Times of Probabilistic Programs (ESOP)"

Neil Ghani, Fredrik Nordvall Forsberg, and Alex Simpson: "Comprehensive Parametric Polymorphism: Categorical Models and Type Theory (FOSSACS)"

2015 / London

Konstantinos Mamouras: "Synthesis of Strategies and the Hoare Logic of Angelic Nondeterminism (FoSSaCS 2015)"

2014 / Grenoble

Christel Baier, Joachim Klein, Sascha Klueppelholz and Steffen Märcker: "Computing Conditional Properties in Markovian Models Efficiently"

Naoki Kobayashi, Kazuhiro Inaba and Takeshi Tsukada: "Unsafe Order-2 Tree Languages are Context-Sensitive"

2013 / Rome

Michele Bugliesi, Stefano Calzavara, Fabienne Eigner, Matteo Maffei: "Logical Foundations of Secure Resource Management in Protocol Implementations"

2012 / Tallinn

Sebastian Preugschat, Thomas Wilke: "Effective Characterizations of Simple Fragments of Temporal Logic Using Prophetic Automata"

2011 / Saarbrücken

Sylvain Conchon, Evelyne Contejean, Mohamed Iguernelala: "Canonized Rewriting and Ground AC-Completion Modulo Shostak Theories"

2010 / Paphos

Parosh Abdulla, Yu-Fang Chen, Lukas Holik, Richard Mayr, Tomas Vojnar: "When Simulation Meets Antichains (on Checking Language Inclusion of NFA's)"

2009 / York

Yohad Lustig, Moshe Y. Vardi : "Synthesis for Component Libraries"

2008 / Budapest

Christel Baier, Nathalie Bertrand, Marcus Größer : "On Decision Problems for Probabilistic Büchi Automata"

2007 / Braga

Christian Haack, Erik Poll, Jan Schaefer, Aleksy Schubert : "Immutable Objects for a Java-like Language"

2006 / Vienna

Lutz Schröder : "A Finite Model Construction for Coalgebraic Modal Logic"

2005 / Edingburgh

Andrzej Murawski, Igor Walukiewicz : "Third-Order Idealized Algol with Iteration is Decidable"

2004 / Barcelona

Daniel Kirsten : "Distance Desert Automata and the Star Height One Problem"

2003 / Warsaw

V. Sassone, P. Sobocinski : "Deriving Bisimulation Congruences: 2-categories versus Precategories"

2002 / Grenoble

E. Goddard, Y. Metivier : "Characterization of Families of Graphs in which Election is Possible"

2001 / Genova

Masahito Hasegawa, Yoshihiko Kakutani : "Axioms for Recursion in Call-by-Value"

2000 / Berlin

Christophe Morvan : "On rational graphs" your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.