Presburger Award

Starting in 2010, the European Association of Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) confers each year at the conference ICALP the Presburger Award to a young scientist (in exceptional cases to several young scientists) for outstanding contributions in theoretical computer science, documented by a published paper or a series of published papers. The award is named after Mojzesz Presburger who accomplished his path-breaking work on decidability of the theory of addition (which today is called Presburger arithmetic) as a student in 1929.


Nominations for the Presburger Award can be submitted by any member or group of members of the theoretical computer science community except the nominee and his/her advisors for the master thesis and the doctoral dissertation. Nominated scientists have to be at most 35 years old on January 1st of the year of the nomination (i.e., for the Presburger Award of 2023 the birth year should be 1987 or later).


Award Committee 2023

Mikołaj Bojańczyk

Uriel Feige
Tal Malkin

Nominations, consisting of a two page justification and (links to) the respective papers, as well as additional supporting letters, should be sent to

Mikołaj Bojańczyk

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

by 15th February 2023:

Presburger Award for Young Scientists 2023 - Call for Nominations

The two page justification can be co-signed by several nominators and may be accompanied by letters of support.


The award includes an amount of 1000 € and an invitation to ICALP 2023 for a lecture.


The Presburger Award is sponsored by CWI, Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica.



A brief history of the Presburger Award follows below.

2023 / Aaron BernsteinThatchaphol Saranurak

Place: ICALP (Paderborn)

Committee: Mikołaj Bojanczyk (chair), Uriel Feige and Tal Malkin


2022 / Dor Minzer

Place: ICALP (Paris)

Committee: Mikołaj Bojanczyk, Uriel Feige and Meena Mahajan (chair)


2021 / Shayan Oveis Gharan

Place: ICALP (Glasgow)

Committee: Thore Husfeldt (chair), Meena Mahajan and Mikołaj Bojanczyk


2020 / Dmitriy Zhuk

Place: ICALP (Saarbrücken)

Committee: Thore Husfeldt, Meena Mahajan and Anca Muscholl (chair)


2019 / Karl Bringmann & Kasper Green Larsen

Place: ICALP (Patras)

Committee: Thore Husfeldt, Anca Muscholl and Jukka Suomela (chair)


2018 / Aleksander Mądry

Place: ICALP (Prague)

Committee: Monika Henzinger, Stephan Kreutzer (chair) and Jukka Suomela


2017 / Alexandra Silva

Place: ICALP (Warsow)

Committee: Marta Kwiatkowska (chair), Stephan Kreutzer and Jukka Suomela


2016 / Mark Braverman

Place: ICALP (Rome)

Committee: Zoltan Esik (University of Szeged, Hungary), Marta Kwiatkowska (University of Oxford, UK) and Claire Mathieu (ENS Paris, France;chair)

2015 / Xi Chen

Place: ICALP (Kyoto)

Committee: Zoltan Esik (University of Szeged, Hungary), Claire Mathieu (ENS Paris, France) and Peter Widmayer (ETH Zurich, CH; chair)

2014 / David Woodruff

Place: ICALP (Copenhagen)

Committee: Claire Mathieu, Peter Widmayer, and Antonin Kucera (chair)

2013 / Erik Demaine

Place: ICALP (Riga)

Committee: Antonin Kucera, Peter Widmayer, and Monika Henzinger (chair)

Photos from ICALP 2013

2012 / Venkatesan Guruswami, Mihai Patrascu

Place: ICALP (Warwick)

Committee: Monika Henzinger, Antonin Kucera, and Stefano Leonardi (chair)

2011 / Patricia Bouyer-Decitre

Place: ICALP (Zürich)

Committee: Monika Henzinger, Stefano Leonardi, and Andrzej Tarlecki (chair)

Photos from ICALP 2011 by Manfred Kudlek

2010 / Mikolaj Bojanczyk

Place: ICALP (Bordeaux)

Committee: Stefano Leonardi, Andrzej Tarlecki, and Wolfgang Thomas (chair)

Photos from ICALP 2010 by Manfred Kudlek your social media marketing partner
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science - Maintained and hosted by RU1 / CTI.